Bendigo Academy of Sport Annual Presentation Evening

The Bendigo Academy of Sport’s Annual Presentation Gala Evening celebrated the successes of the athletes and coaches for the 2021-2022 year. The special guest and guest speaker for the evening was Anabelle Smith who is a current Victorian Institute of Sport athlete in her chosen sport of diving. Anabelle is a triple Olympian and the pinnacle of her career was at the Rio Olympics 2016 winning a bronze medal in synchronised diving with her partner Maddison Keeney.


The 2021/2022 Bendigo Academy of Sport Athlete of the Year went to Jordan Rudd [Para-Sports]

Jordan was awarded the Gary Tierney Memorial Scholarship Award at a Gala Ceremony on Friday 20th May at the All Seasons presented by John McGrath long-time family friend of Gary Tierney and Gary’s wife Louise.

Jordan has achieved the following:

  • Selected to represent Australia in the Oceania Asia Games in the 800m & 1500m in Brisbane, 5 -11 November 2022.
  • 2022 National Athletic Championships Sydney
    • Gold Medals U/17 Para 1500m with an Australian Record & PB of 5:19.69 (32s better than last year), 800m U/17Para with a PB of 2:35.97
    • Silver Medal U/17 Para 400m with a PB of 67.02s
  • Athletics Victoria and Little Athletics State Combined event, & State Little Athletics Vic Championships (Multi class U13-16)
    • Gold Medals U/17 800m and U/17, 400m 100m, 200m & Long Jump
    • Silver Medals U/17 1500m and Long Jump
  • Northern Metro Region Little Athletics Vic (Multi Class U13- U16)
    • Gold Medals (5) – 100m,200m, Shot Put, Discus and Long Jump
  • Northern Metro Region U16 (Open Boys) Cross Country Season 2021
    • First Place (Trophy) – Champion – over 5 rounds competing against able bodied athletes



2021/2022 Academy Coach of the Year Di Hanslow

Di has been a coach with the Bendigo Academy of Sport since 2017 when with the support of Netball Victoria, a squad was created in the north-east of Victoria. In 2018, Di undertook the role of head coach and has taken the squad from strength to strength. A high percentage of the squad each year are selected in the Netball Vic Talent Pathways squad and our only male netball athlete is currently playing in the state men’s competition each week.

Di started her junior career as a goal attack, but we believe she found her strength to be that of a defender and often demonstrates her defensive skills at training much to the enjoyment of the squad.

Di’s accolades include Country Victorian representative, State League [VNL] player and represented the Goulburn Valley League as a player and coach. Later in her career, Di coached at the VNL level with Ariels, and has been a successful Goulburn Valley League coach winning premierships with Shepparton United, Kyabram and is the current A-grade coach at Mooroopna.

In 2011 Di was awarded with the Netball Victoria Distinction award for services to netball.

Our Netball squad in the north-east is fortunate to have a coach with so much experience and dedication to make the athletes the best that they can be.


“Frank Roberts’s outstanding service award – John McGrath

John has been a staunch supporter and sponsor of the Bendigo Academy of Sport for over 18 years.  During that time, he has contributed financially to the volleyball program being the naming rights holder. His financial contribution has enabled the volleyball squad to have numerous squad members achieve representation at state and national levels.

John has a passionate interest in all the academy sports and the athletes, inquiring into who the next successful athletes will be.

Being a marathon and half marathon runner competing at event around the world, he provides an excellent role model to our athletes.

Each year John attends our award evening and presents the Gary Tierney Memorial Scholarship – Athlete of the Year which honours his great friend and mentor.

2021/2022 Bendigo Academy of Sport Award winners:


  • Athlete of the Year – Sophie Hughes
  • Encouragement Award – Toby Sexton and Milla Tzaros


  • Athlete of the Year – Flynn Anderson
  • Encouragement Award – Josh Hunt

Individual Athletes

  • Athlete of the Year – Austin Spiteri

Netball Bendigo

  • Athlete of the Year – Kyla Byrne
  • Encouragement Award – Ava Broderick

Netball North East

  • Athlete of the Year – Mackenzie O’Dwyer
  • Encouragement Award – Tahlia Pate

Para Sports

  • Athlete of the Year – Jordan Rudd
  • Encouragement Award – Marnie Clapham


  • Athlete of the Year – Isabella Crossman
  • Encouragement Award – Josh Bavich


  • Athlete of the Year – Matthew Barake
  • Encouragement Award – Asher Hastings